the holidays are here & so are the agency videos

It’s that time of year again…that time of year when agencies start sending out fun, weird and creative pieces designed to spread holiday cheer and spread season’s greetings. Like AKQA’s gerbil-powered holiday message:

akqa_xmas.png

Gerbils are always fun.

Unless you are in fourth grade and have to take care of the class gerbil over the weekend and you let the gerbil loose, he doesn’t come back and your Mom has to buy a new one to replace the one that you lost. Then they are not that much fun. But I digress.

Other agencies are using this webbernet thing to do video holiday cards, like the Dailey and Associates one I found at AdPulp.

Or this holiday video that, because I am basically technically illiterate, I cannot embed, from Periscope in Minneapolis.

I am all for fun agency videos, but sometimes they are a little TOO inside-jokey for me. But I am sure that it was fun for the whole agency. All six minutes of it.

At least it didn’t bring up bad childhood memories. And, let’s face it, if you’re making a video for the agency, you want to make sure that it’s fun, upbeat and features everyone. This one sure did that.

And so I like it.

Merry Christmas everyone.

Leave a comment