video games, hot chicks & draft/fcb

I’m not much of a gamer…I don’t even own a gaming system, though at times I have considered buying an old Nintendo off of eBay. I never had a Nintendo as a kid and figure that if I am going to start as may as well start where everyone else did and slowly move myself up through the Sega Genesis to N64, Playstation and then to Xbox 360 or Wii or something.

Or I could get a girlfriend.

Boom.

At any rate, when I came across DraftFCB’s new spot for EA’s Red Alert 3 I had to keep my lack of gaming knowledge in mind. Because I hadn’t the slightest idea of what the fuck was going on in the spot:

And then, unlike the Bob Garfield’s of the world who would have used his lack of understanding of this ad as an excuse to decry sexism or racism or stupidism or whateverism with the usual pompous prose and over-long column, I did some research into the game itself.

It did not make me change my mind about not being a gamer.

It did make me change my mind about the ad.

The whole music video-based trailer remix idea isn’t totally original, but it’s hard to ding DraftFCB for that…I mean, most ads follow a similar convention with the difference coming in a better idea of how to express the brand within said convention.

And I am inclined to like how they take advantage of this convention because, based on what I have learned about this game, the celebrities featured represent characters in the game saying phrases that someone who has already played the game would be familiar with. The music is apparently from the original game as well. And they threw in some scenes of the game being played for good measure.

Though, based on my ill-informed stereotypes, I imagine that the gamer-azzi who have played the first two versions of the game will march like lemmings to the store to purchase this third version and don’t need advertising to help them on their way, I imagine that this ad does a good job of getting them excited for its release…especially with the cues it takes from the original version. Sort of an insider wink at those who have been there from the beginning.

And people love insider winks. It makes them feel like they’re part of a group, which is even more intoxicating a feeling than heroin.

Or so I hear.

Also, I like the celebrity babe cameos (looking at you Jenny McCarthy and Kelly Hu!) because for those of us non-gamers out there who would otherwise be confused by this ad, we are instead distracted by all the smokin’ hot babes and the driving techno beat.

In the end it’s a pretty fun, interesting in an unchallenging kind of way, gets the current base of consumers excited for the game launch kind of spot that does what it’s supposed to do.

While also featuring hot babes.

Which makes it a winner in my book.

Leave a Reply

