i really wanted to like this…and kinda do

I swear, I really did want to like this self-promotion piece by new Los Angeles-based agency Inform-Ventures. No, seriously, I wanted to like it. I wanted to like it more than I wanted to like Indiana Jones.

Both had a lot of promise…especially Inform-Ventures, whose self-promotion piece opened with what can only be called a breakthrough image:

Of course, I could neither take a screengrab of the mailer nor could I copy it as an entire image, but I was willing to overlook that and give them a chance because I like small agencies who make fun of big agencies to the tune of a mailer that reads:

Old World Agencies,
Stop the fleecing of our clients! Stop the heavy taxation! Stop isolating our clients from the truth for profit’s sake! It not only hurts our clients, it undermines our industry and makes us collectively less competitive.

We do not live in a time where efficiency and authenticity can be forgone for control and greed. We live in a New World. Our clients need to be closer to the source… closer to the ground floor where the information, ideas, and execution occur.

Be honest about your strengths and when assistance will make a profound difference. Do not appropriate ideas from those on the ground floor. It is a disservice to the creators and our clients, and rarely goes unnoticed. The people and the press are too smart for that type of practice to succeed for long.

Empower your clients with new alliances. Allow them to be unencumbered by the ideas of the Old World. It will make our clients stronger and you more valuable.

With warm regard,

Inform-Ventures.com

Then the let me down a little bit with that agency name. Inform Ventures. Really? Really?

Then I went to their website…which has neat and expensive-looking Paper Vision Flash but ended up getting me stuck on a page and unable to click back to Home. A cardinal sin.

Such a cardinal sin that, coupled with their miss on the mailer and the agency name I was about to write a sarcastic post the vast wrongitude of their self-promotion attempt. And then ask them to please stop.

When everything changed.

Or at least most of it did.

Before I ruin it for you I want you to go to their website. Go now. Okay, now sit through intro. This may take a while.
.
.
.
.
.
.
I know, it’s kind of ridiculous how long it takes…
.
.
.
.
.
.
Okay, now click on “Old World” and let the pop-up box happen. Everything will be okay. Then click “Proceed with Caution” and let everything be wonderful.

I laughed out loud when I saw JWT’s site pop up…and just for shits and giggles I reloaded it again only to find the link point to DDB. I tried it again and it went to <a href=”http://www.deutsch.com”>Deutsch and then Ogilvy and then laughter got in the way of me clicking through the whole thing any more. What a classicly awesome smack in the face to the BDAs.

It made up for everything.

I really wanted to like this…and kinda do.

4 responses to “i really wanted to like this…and kinda do

  1. Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

    Old World = Desire to be profitable = Bad
    New World = Reside on “ground floor” with idea-unencumbering device = Good.

    Also, I love the always-effective “I bet you won’t notice all the rancor in the note I just wrote you by ending it with a pleasant, folksy sign-off” play. This actually works. I read about a study that mailed the following letter to 100 people:

    — To Whom it May Concern,

    You suck. I mean, beyond suck. Nobody likes you.

    Warmest and best regards,
    – Your parents —

    77 of the 100 people, according to the study, proudly displayed the letter on their refrigerator. The remaining 23 recipients all spontaneously opened orphanages.

  2. Hey I got that email too! I just never actually followed up on it as much as you did.

  3. Pingback: Patchchord.com » Blog Archive » The Day’s Del.icio.us

  4. Pingback: inform ventures is back again « the daily (ad) biz

Leave a Reply

