looking for the real pretty ae

 

It never really worked out with The Original Pretty AE (TM), but I am not one to sit at home and mope…I am a man of action, and happily there are more than enough good looking account execs in town that I have a realistic shot at finding the next Official Pretty AE.

I am not looking specifically for AEs, just in case you are curious.  I don’t have a strange office-based fetish where I will ask them to fill out a brief with strategy, objectives and executional considerations before any physical contact – though that would definitely make for an interesting, er, interaction (especially if Planning were involved to help develop and approve the brief) – but I do have a few friends who are interested in hooking me up with their friends.

And we all know how incestuous this industry can be.

Earlier this week, back before my home internet connection was restored (at some expense to myself, I might add…Cablevision was not accepting of my argument that they should replace the modem that I fried), an Interactive Producer on the brand team I am a part of here at the House of Biz mentioned that she had just the girl for me…she wanted me to meet the “nicest girl in the world ever.”  

I asked her, just to make sure, whether or not that was code for “not good looking at all but personable.”

She sighed and said no, the girl was indeed very good looking.  She then gave me her email and told me not to make an ass of myself when I digitally introduced myself.

I told her that I was a writer by trade and that she could trust me to be charming, at least until we met in person.

This girl is an account exec at one of the biggest of the BDAs in town which is good for two reasons.  First, she doesn’t work at my agency, unlike the Original Pretty AE, and one hopes that this makes it less difficult to actually have a romantic resolution from the situation.  Second, even if it doesn’t go well I can hope to have a friendship/acquantainceship out of it and I don’t have any contacts at this particular agency…that’s right, I am saying that if it doesn’t work out that at least I will have blog fodder.  No, I am not that shallow, I am just trying to have realistic expectations.

Stay tuned and cross your fingers, she and I meet in person next week.

2 responses to “looking for the real pretty ae

  1. I think u shoud say woman not girl………..

  2. Pingback: the pretty ae auditions « the daily (ad) biz

Leave a Reply

