a peek behind the curtain

I have gotten a few emails since my post on “the Ivy League of advertising” asking me just who I was to come up with a list like that and call it definitive. Clearly, based on the list, I am somehow who knows what he is talking about, but I gather that they really wanted a reason or two for why they should listen to me.

As if you wouldn’t just believe it because it was on a blog. I am at least as reliable as the New York Times.

At any rate, I am going to go ahead and share some very personal information that probably won’t make this blog any more valid in the eyes of the questioners but they probably wouldn’t be happy unless I was Alex Bogusky or David Lubars anyway.

Why should I believe what you write?: I went to Catholic school as a child and learned that even truth well told gets you in trouble with God. So I stay on the straight and narrow despite how hard that is for someone in advertising.

Are you even a creative?: Only on good days, though it is in my job description. I wear ironic t-shirts and try over-hard to be cool while only really caring about winning awards and finding a really hot girlfriend.

Do you like what you do?: I love it. I can’t think of a job that is more fun, less serious and easier to take the piss out of…I mean, I just spent a huge chunk of Friday thinking up funny ways to sell snacks to guys my age. What’s not to like?

But don’t you complain about advertising a lot?: There is a lot to complain about, especially with regard to certain ad critics. But I still like advertising, especially when it is well done.

Is the agency job your favorite ever?: No, actually, my favorite ever job was glassing surfboards…and my least favorite ever job was being a busboy. The advertising gig falls somewhere in the middle.

Are your parents proud?: They are very proud…it’s my friends from my old New England college that are they issue. They’ve had too much Naomi Klein and Karl Marx and call me a capitalist running dog who makes people buy shit they don’t need. They do this over expensive lattes and when they’re done with their ranting, they drive their German-made SUVs back to Massachusetts, feeling good about sticking it to the man the whole way home. My friends are all partially retarded.

What else do you like to do?: Read. I do it voraciously and have recently begun to read all of an author’s works in a row to get a feel for all that they have done. Currently I am on Graham Greene and Greene’s Orient Express is the last book I read. My favorite of all time is Martin Amis’ The Rachel Papers. When I am not reading I am either beating all my friends at Wii or blogging about how I really wish that I had made a move on The Pretty AE.

Why do you blog?: Because I like to write so much that I just can’t stop. Also, having this blog disciplines me to look at the current work and marketing thinking that is out there and think about why I like or dislike it…which I then try to apply to my own work (so far unsuccessfully, but there’s still time).

3 responses to “a peek behind the curtain

  1. BlakeDriveGirl

    Regarding this section of the post: “Are your parents proud?: They are very proud…it’s my friends from my old New England college that are they issue…They do this over expensive lattes and when they’re done with their ranting, they drive their German-made SUVs back to Massachusetts, feeling good about sticking it to the man the whole way home. My friends are all partially retarded.”

    I am put-off by this comment as a fellow advertising slave and member of such a New England college. I will go so far to say that I agree with you about MOST of the folks there, but there are a select few that drive american POS vehicles… 🙂

  2. And you are one of the shining examples of all that is right in the world 🙂

  3. the biz for-eva

    This is why you won’t have any more friends, you capitalist, fascist, slave-driving, slave-driven, advertis-a-holic, sell-me-sh*t-I-don’t-need-or-want, rapscallion!

Leave a Reply

