uh…i don’t get it

Occasionally when I look at an ad I am at a loss for words. This sort of thing happens sometimes when the ad is so good that I am a little dumbstruck, other times I need to look at it a few times before it really strikes me, and then there are the times that I don’t know what to say because I just don’t get it.

Like with this ad, granted by Grey, Milan so it has the excuse of being foreign, for Seat Autos:

Am I just slow here?

It is a cool looking ad, very European and very nicely shot…but I just don’t get it. At all.

12 responses to “uh…i don’t get it

  1. I think it might be that the velocity of the speeding car advertised powers the turbines. The only copy is a mention of its hp.

  2. Are Seat cars supposed to be high performance? Just guessing, like Sparky. Windmills meant to suggest that driving a Seat is like being powered by wind energy? Hmmmm. Glad for the reminder that copywriters aren’t always dispensable.

  3. A fast car going very fast creates a gust of wind (turbines need wind to turn).

    It’s a pretty decent ad. Maybe a little too subtle, but a nice idea.

  4. @ umber jamber: I get what you are saying and if that is the concept it is interesting, but perhaps print isn’t the right place to execute this idea…especially because Seat cars are more like Smart cars than barnburners that would actually create a noticeable gust of wind.

  5. 240 hp is a pretty powerful engine, especially on a smaller car (for contrast, a Lotus Elise has under 200hp).

    I don’t know how else you can read this ad.

    The windmills are used specifically because it’s a more fuel efficient car, but really, it’s an ad that says the car is fast. Hence the HP reference.

  6. Again, I am with you. 240hp is a big engine…it’s just that Seat, at least when I lived in Europe, wasn’t making fast cars. The windmills get there, but it’s a stretch and it’s a stretch specifically because it is Seat and not a performance brand.

    Lotus can do something like this because they’re fast (the very light Elise doesn’t need a big engine), and because they are fast cars I get it quicker. With Seat it takes awhile because it just doesn’t match.

    Some copy would have helped.

    It also would have made a great TV spot.

  7. I could also be slow and this ad is perfectly “get-able” for someone with reasonable intelligence. 🙂

  8. you’re right dailybiz.

    it’s just yet another achingly clever euro car ad aimed at cannes juries rather than the great unwashed euro car buyer. and it’s for seat. yeah right. the spanish skoda.

    PS: why is the type in the comments section so small? at least make it helvetica. or something.

  9. I must be just as slow as you are DB– did not get it either until I read Umber Jumber’s response.
    It’s one of those “too many steps to connect the dots” ads that consumers won’t take time with.
    Seriously- a Cannes jury might puzzle over this, but if it’s not a brand a consumer particularly cares about, they’re just not going to bother.

    And if a bunch of ad creatives can’t puzzle it out without using a “cheat” then what do you think non-industry people will make of it?

  10. I agree that it’s a little too subtle. I love ads that make you think to get ’em but if you make the leap too big or too ambiguous, you’ve missed the mark.

    It’s a small target. To me, this one gets an B+ for effort, but they left it just a touch too open.

    In the end, I’d rather see ads like this, ads that talk up to me, rather than 95% of all US car ads, which talk down to me.

  11. I agree with UJ. Especially about the ads talking up to people instead of down. It is a bit subtle, and especially to people who don’t know the brand or what it stands for.

  12. I took it to mean fast car can power the turbines, but I think I’m getting really sick of foreign ads that we just don’t/can’t/won’t run here. Great concept, but really, lemmee get some MSRP copy on there to gunk up the layout cuz it’s going in anyway.

Leave a Reply

