more purgatory-like work from y&r

I love Dr Pepper. It is one of my favorite sodas. Sure, I have given up soda because the caffeine was making me twitch at inopportune times, but I have nice memories of drinking warm cans of Dr Pepper at school in the lunch that my Mom packed me (before drinking soda at school became illegal).

I even like Dr Pepper’s positioning. Building on the 23 flavors that, apparently, make up every Dr Pepper (it’s the ultimate suicide drink…you know, when you were a kid at a fountain and poured a little bit of every soda into your cup to make the ultimate taste and sugar combination) the positioning of “there’s more to it” makes a lot of sense. It says something about the product and makes the brand stand out from its cola competition.

It’s just that the advertising, by Y&R, is so vanilla:

Dr Pepper advertising is sort of like purgatory. It’s not bad. It’s not good…

It is on strategy and there is a nice shot of the rich soda and all the bubbles, but it doesn’t really do anything for me. It’s just taking a famous old song and building an ad around it. I know, I know, that’s the one trick from one-trick pony Y&R, but it could be so much better.

Like the (already featured) Cherry Chocolate Diet Dr Pepper viral video featuring YouTube superstar Tay Zonday. It has had almost three million views, cost a fraction of the regular :30 spot and Y&R had nothing to do with it:

If your only tool is a :30 spot (and your only creative tool is the encyclopedic knowledge of old songs), then the solution always happens to be a :30 spot. Even when it really isn’t.

One response to “more purgatory-like work from y&r

  1. Pingback: Stratumseind horecafraude Eindhoven

Leave a Reply

