my pretty ae obsession is a good thing

In further news about the Holiday Party, nothing happened between The Pretty AE and me…which is a good thing because, since it was a work function, I am not all that sure that we could have pulled it off and kept our dignity. Though, since this is advertising, we would have at least had our jobs.

Any day now I am going to bare my soul to her and tell her how I have been feeling, but in the meantime, it’s still a lot of fun to hang out with her and to have someone at work to flirt with.

This little semi-romance thing may even be healthy. As the new (to me) blog Dear Jane Sample puts it:

“Flirting at work makes work pleasant. It gives you something to look forward to each morning and its just plain fun! The exchange of those flirty emails and msn messages through out the day just makes the day go by. It will also motivate you to dress decently for work.”

All true…except probably that last part.

They always say that you should dress for the job you want to have and, since I would like to be a Creative Director one day, inappropriate-for-any-other-office attire is the name of my game. I won’t go as far as some who wear Crocs (I don’t care how comfortable they are, you still look like a muppet) and ride around on scooters in the office (if we were in grade school I would beat these people up – just walk the ten yards asshole), but I will go to great lengths to make sure that I am wearing the same style of shoe that I wore in high school, my jeans are branded and that my shirt is never, ever tucked in.

Unless I am trying to be ironic.

Back to the matter at hand, Dear Jane does caveat her pro-flirting message:

“Be warned though, once you move to that next level the light-heartiness of the situation is replaced by some major drama. Which is less fun, as it usually results in gossip about you at work, crying, sulking and jealousy.”

Though that could be the case…though, as I imagine things with The Pretty AE, once they move to the next level the light-heartedness of the situation will be replaced by a passion-swept love of epic proportions that results in us both finding true love and complete satisfaction in life.

Advertising is about selling aspiration, right? Well, I’m sold on it.

2 responses to “my pretty ae obsession is a good thing

  1. Aaaaawwww. I love it. I am 110% (as per corporate bullshit speak) cheering for you and the Pretty AE.

  2. Pretty AE obsessions rock. I have one, too.

Leave a Reply

