advertising for peanuts and (kind of) liking it

It’s not the days of Mad Men, but apparently people are interested in joining the ad industry. That is the only possible conclusion that I can make from the news, which I read on AdPulp, that the $28,000 – $35,000 starting salary for an associate account executive in advertising is less than the starting salary of someone going into Teach for America or working at the IRS.

Basic supply and demand tells me (if the legions of motivated idiots a lot like my young self) that people want to work in advertising. And they want to work so badly that they will live in virtual penury in Manhattan trying to make something of it.

It took about three years before I doubled my salary and made my way out of the sad paycheck-to-paycheck existence I had.

But I like working in advertising. I like it a lot more than my good friend who is on Wall Street making fuck-off money and living in Connecticut with his girlfriend. Good thing that he makes the money because the 5:45am train into Grand Central every morning would make me start singing crazy songs like the CD at Grey.

I would be rich though.

Something I am patently not going to be on my current track.

3 responses to “advertising for peanuts and (kind of) liking it

  1. I thought I left a comment, but it disappeared. Hmmmm…perhaps ended up tailing some other post–sadly, even computer servers have a say in my copy. Anyway, I know what you mean, dailybiz. If I’d gone into law or Wall Street I’d probably have made enough by now to retire to Litchfield where I’d be spending my days golfing or antiquing with friends, going for just the right duck decoy doorsopper or gingham-lined basket to showcase my softer, triple-ply TP. Which is why I am glad I stuck it out in a business I think of as the most fun you can have making (not enough) money.

  2. I know what you mean, daily biz. If I’d gone to law school or Wall Street, I’d probably be retired in CT by now, golfing (i hate golf) or spending my days trolling antique shops collecting duck decoy doorstops and gingham-lined baskets for extra rolls of TP. I’m glad I stuck it out in a business I’ve always thought of as the most fun you can have making (not enough) money.

  3. Sorry about the comment issue – for some reason it is set to “moderate comments” but does not tell you that your comment has been moderated. And I don’t know how to change it. But I will look into it.

    I am sure that you would enjoy collecting duck decoy doorstops (hilarious and true of the “Gold Coast” ladies that I see when I go up that way), but advertising is a lot more fun. At least that’s what I tell myself too…

Leave a Reply

