a pox on this client

I was on a conference call with a client and The Pretty AE. It was excruciating.

The client art directed the project to within in an inch of me suggesting that he just do it himself in PowerPoint and email it to the pub. PowerPoint does offer drop shadow, which he loves, and it would be great to hear him explain to the production folks why a low-res PowerPoint file should be enough for them to run as a full page color ad in a broadsheet.

My favorite was when he said that the product needed to be bigger because that is “the moment of benefit.”

No, a product sitting in a layout is not the moment of benefit. The moment of benefit is when you eat it, and we are not going to show someone chowing on this product…it would lose the appetite appeal that I think you really mean to refer to.

But he would not be swayed. He is convinced that the consumer’s moment of benefit is when they look at his product.

He just called me to tell me that he is emailing me a rough sketch and some copy ideas for this ad (Called to tell me that he is emailing me? Why do people do this? I feel like I want to punch him in the kidney).

I am going to email him back and send him this:

Leave a Reply

