nike and the art of the psa

I am currently working on a PSA-style campaign for a non-PSA client. Nike, as usual, has done a pretty good job.

The issue with this spot, as it will be with mine, is trying to make sense of why the brand is doing a PSA. Throughout the Nike spot I kept thinking that the metaphor was going to be a “break down your own barriers” type of message and then I got hit with a line about condom use. I bit of a stretch for a shoe company, and with only one line of explanatory copy I was a little confused. But, the spot is so visually engaging that I’ll give them a break. Hopefully whatever comes out on my project gets the same benefit of any doubt (since it won’t have the same slick production values).

Leave a Reply

