8 responses to “how to make a copywriter want to kill you

  1. It would be interesting to see some of your headlines and the conversion rates they produce. Or do you “creative” types measure that kind of silly stuff? :)

  2. I wonder if this same jr. AE would tell his surgeon some of his suggestions on how to approach his work. Everyone on the planet thinks they can work in the creative department.

  3. Good advertising is not something that a formula will spit out.

    I have a formula that I follow when writing ads to make sure that I have done my best to cover every angle and to try to drive myself to think outside the box, but there is no formula for creating good advertising.

    Your blog has some examples of the type of work that is out there, but makes no mention of the creativity behind making a direct or questioning or whatever headline effectively hit the human truth that moves consumer action while building the brand. It makes no mention of how or why a certain headline should be used to be most effective, of how or why a certain style may be more effective with one consumer segment vs another or in hitting one objective vs another. There are just too many variables in each specific project for a blog post to cover.

    I don’t have a problem with your blog – far from it, I had to have read it to quote it :) – I just think that the tips and guide sections are a simplified look at advertising.

    And therefore dangerous in the hands a non-marketing professional who thinks that “Buy Me” and a product shot isn’t a bad idea.

  4. >>I just think that the tips and guide sections are a simplified look at advertising.

    Yes, because it’s a blog. But some might find even simple advice more useful than the normal self-absorbed ranting that clutters the blogosphere. For example…

  5. Hahaha. Well said.

    Of course, I did credit you with the fact that “there are just too many variables in each specific project for a blog post to cover” and was only really saying that your advice is so simple that it is dangerous in the hands of a non-marketing professional like the one that I encountered.

    Not that it is wrong or not useful (I actually really liked your posts about improving your blogging…).

    You have your audience of the non-marketers who think that advertising is easy if they just find the right formula, as if it were a math problem.

    I have my audience that has worked hard to get where they are and, now that they are here, are frustrated that anyone would dare to think that it takes anything less than unalloyed brilliance to create ads…more seriously, they know what they are doing and know that you are not going to get good advertising from some play-skool “sure-fire headline templates.”

  6. Pingback: advertising isn’t formulaic: two steps to good work « the daily (ad) biz

  7. I hear you. In all fairness, I repeatedly implore people to study and learn from successful headline structures, not just “plug and play.” Most people don’t. But the few that do, I feel really good about.

  8. Pingback: thank you for a great year « the daily (ad) biz

Leave a Reply

